Tuesday, June 1, 2010

New CSA 2010 Rules

New CSA 2010 Rules are making trucking companies and shippers nervous. There are many rumours floating around that 175,000 drivers will lose their jobs the day that CSA 2010 takes effect. While CSA 2010 does not actually give authority to the FMCSA to remove anyone, it is still unclear as to what actions state agencies will take (who DO have the authority).

As of May 27th, here is the updated timeline for the rollout of CSA 2010.

April 12 – November 30, 2010 – Motor carriers can preview their own data by seeing their roadside inspections/violations and crash events organized by Behavior Analysis and Safety Improvement Category (BASIC).

Summer 2010

June 30th – The Operational Model (Op-Model) Test will end.

July – The four “50/50” Op-Model Test states, Colorado, Georgia, Missouri and New Jersey, will join the five 100% Op-Model Test states in implementing the program.

August – Motor carriers will be able to see an assessment of their violations based on the new Carrier Safety Measurement System (CSMS) which will replace SafeStat later in 2010.

Fall/Winter 2010 - SafeStat will be replaced by the CSMS. CSMS will be available to the public, including shippers and insurance companies.

FMCSA/States will prioritize enforcement using the CSMS.

FMCSA will begin to issue Warning Letters to carriers with deficient BASICs.

Roadside inspectors will use the CSMS results to identify carriers for inspection.

Winter 2010 - Safety Fitness Determination Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) is scheduled to be released.

2011 – Enforcement staff will be trained, and new interventions will be implemented State-by-State